Lessons on Prayer

13 11 2009

Every time I hear a child pray, I am reminded of how I try to make prayer complicated.

Our family had supper out last night, and Jonathan (my 5 year old) wanted to pray for the food.  This was his prayer:

“God is great, God is good, let us thank Him for our food.  God, we know that you are great and that you are over all our community.  And we know that the number to the right of the negatives are positives.  Amen.”

Jonathan has learned that God really is interested in all aspects of his life.  He is always excited to share with God things that he is learning and thoughts he is having without the adult fear of being inappropriate.  I wish I did that more often.

Take time today to talk to God about your life.  Don’t worry if the prayer is not well constructed or “Proper”.  I think we might be surprised how good it feels to just be “real” with God.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

