I Don’t Want The Itch

8 01 2010

I am doing a reading plan to go through the  major happenings in the bible in 60 days.  Today I read something that made me laugh.

In Deuteronomy, God is reminding Moses about the Promise Land and all the blessing associated with it.  God also tells him about the blessings associated with obeying His commands and living for Him.  In addition to blessings, God makes it clear that if the people do not keep His commands and live for Him there will be curses.

In chapter 28 God lists  some of the blessings and curses.  This is the funny thing.   In verse 27 God lists a few of the curses.  He says,”The Lord will afflict you with the boils of Egypt and with tumors, festering sores and the itch…”

It must have been pretty bad to be known simply as “the itch”. Besides, wouldn’t the boils, tumors and festering sores be enough?  Did God have to go and throw “the itch” in as well?  And to top it all off, the last part of verse 27 says, “from which you cannot be cured.”   Maybe it is my weird sense of humor, but I just sat back and laughed as I read .

Funny or not, this is another way for God to remind us that He is serous about us following Him.  Like it or not, there is blessing and “curses” associated with our obedience to God or the lack there of.  I for one do not want “the itch“.

I don’t think I will ever be able to scratch again without thinking of this passage.

Blessing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

